Hello U of T has won all of the seats on UTSU’s executive committee except one, according to results posted online today.

According to the results released this evening, Hello U of T’s Jasmine Wong Denike has been elected next year’s president over 1UofT’s Madina Siddiqui.

Also from Hello U of T, Shahin Imtiaz was elected as VP Campus Life, Farah Noori—a UTM student—was elected VP equity, Lucinda Qu was elected VP external, Shawn Williams was elected VP university affairs and academics, and Ryan Gomes was elected to the new VP professional faculties position.

Carina Zhang, who ran for VP internal and services, is the only candidate from 1UofT to have been elected to the UTSU executive for next year, winning over Mathias Memmel from Hello U of T.

According to the unofficial results page, “three electors voted offline; they are included in the turnout but their votes are not included in these results”. According to UTSU executive director Tka Pinnock, the offline votes include a single paper ballot while all other votes were submitted online. The paper ballot was cast at the St. George campus.

The two other electors were “dummy ballots” submitted by UTSU as tests, which are not going to be included in the results.

This story is developing and will be updated with new details as they emerge.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here